Skip to content

The Quest for the Perfect Pepper Jam

October 11, 2011

Instead of boating during summer weekends, I was cooking up pepper jam.

I have stayed busy creating and testing new pepper jams (yes, I wore gloves while making the Mango Pepper Jam). It has been a lot of fun, a little frustrating, and very time-consuming. Fortunately, the learning curve for the basic process of making pepper jam is not too steep. Once learned, the process works for all the pepper jams.

The tricky part was coming up with just right blend of peppers to get the flavor I wanted. In most instances, it took only a couple of tries to get it just right. However, getting the color and flavor I liked in my Spicy Green Pepper Jam was a challenge. The recipe underwent three revisions – and rounds of testing – before I was happy with it. My patient friends have eaten a lot of pepper jam.

Label design and jar style are a big part of making sure that my jams are presentable. It doesn’t matter how good the jams taste if no one in the store notices them. I found great jars – and great people to work with me on shipping – at Specialty Bottle. My fast, efficient label printers are the super-helpful people at Maverick Label. Thanks to all of you for your hard work and patience.

My Mango Hot Pepper Jam and Mango Hot Sauce are now available. Spicy Green Pepper Jam and Tangy Red Pepper Jam will be available in stores soon.  And I have more jams in development … Mild Yellow, Hot Papaya, and Coconut-Cinnamon.

Summer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

